Author Topic: Plutonium  (Read 11373 times)

Offline MomOfMany

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
Plutonium
« on: July 26, 2010, 04:10:11 PM »
I can't seem to find it anywhere. I have the collection helper but I still have not found any. Does anyone know where it spawns or how to get it through transfiguration? Thanks in advance! I read somewhere that it is easy to get with Ambitions which I have but I am in Sunset Valley so I don't know if that changes anything!

Members with at least 25 posts do not see ads within a topic.

Offline wildredchild

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 806
  • Meet Sadie :)
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 04:18:43 PM »
I tend to get it while I am in France in the Burial Mound.  I have not found particular spawning place in SV, but do sometimes get it in front of the boarded up mine.  You might try digging in the trash around town as I have heard that you can find it fairly simply that way.

Archer0

  • Guest
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2010, 04:35:03 PM »
Check in the career and money making forum.  There is a thread in there for transfiguration.  Poster ab9rf lists pretty much all the recipes for the display case since Ambitions.  There are multiple recipes for plutonium.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15081
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 12:33:12 AM »
France is my best place to find Plutonium in the wild.

Also, here's the thread Archer's talking about:  http://www.carls-sims-3-forum.com/index.php/topic,1056.0.html
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver Townie DecaDynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Offline Da Vinci

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2010, 03:50:17 PM »
Yeah, France is practically made of plutonium (compared to the other locations).
"This is my maiden voyage. My first speech since I was the president of the United States and I couldn't think of a better place to give it than Calgary, Canada." --George W. Bush, as reported by the Associated Press, Calgary, Canada, March 17, 2009

Offline Castastic

  • Llama Wrangler
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • AYU - The BLUE BIRD in my life
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2010, 04:08:59 PM »
Don't know about the other locations, but there's a Plutonium spawn by the road outside the graveyard in China. Platinum spawns there, too. That's actually the only spot I know of.
If you are afraid of changes
Watch me at a distance
Whether or not I may do something
I'm talked about behind my back
Let it be

Offline Joria

  • Top Secret
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 3385
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2010, 11:56:03 PM »
My recipe for transfiguring to get plutonium is first row, all silver, second row three gold and one stack of platinum, or iridium or any other higher level metal.  If you stack the silver and the gold and everything else you get more ingots back.  The result should be a minimum of one compendium, one plutonium and possibly one iron.  You get higher grade metal if you stack more silver and gold and can bypass the iron.  I haven't tried it with any other metals because all I had on hand was silver, gold,platinum and iridium.
What?  Grannies can't play games?
I speak perfect Nooblik, (and some Simlish)!

Offline LlamaMama

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1190
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2010, 12:04:26 AM »
All those metals that start with "P" drive me nuts, trying to remember which is the valuable one.

(So that's what the "glow" button does -- hehe.)
I put tape on the mirrors in my house so I don't accidentally walk through into another dimension. -- Steven Wright

Frisbeetarianism is the belief that when you die,
your soul goes up on the roof and gets stuck. -- George Carlin

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15081
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2010, 01:14:33 AM »
All those metals that start with "P" drive me nuts, trying to remember which is the valuable one.

(So that's what the "glow" button does -- hehe.)

Yes, and we ask that members not use the glow button because it will wreak havoc on the appearance of the Forum.
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver Townie DecaDynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Offline LlamaMama

  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 1190
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2010, 03:08:33 AM »
I totally understand, just can't keep from pushing a new button. I'll go un-glow it.
I put tape on the mirrors in my house so I don't accidentally walk through into another dimension. -- Steven Wright

Frisbeetarianism is the belief that when you die,
your soul goes up on the roof and gets stuck. -- George Carlin

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15081
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2010, 03:39:32 AM »
I totally understand, just can't keep from pushing a new button. I'll go un-glow it.

Feel free to use the Preview button to look at all the goodies.  Just don't post them.  :)
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver Townie DecaDynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Leto85

  • Guest
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2010, 12:44:44 PM »
I don't know if this has been answered before, but you can get plutonium while transfiguring.

Offline MomOfMany

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2010, 10:00:53 PM »
I got what I needed already. Thanks!
ab9rf I used your table and I must say it is a bit confusing. But maybe that is just me and I don't really understand it to well and being new to transfiguring and all doesn't help. But I just wanted to say you would not need to buy another copy of the base Sims and WA to install it onto another computer. You can use your original copy for it you would just need to use to most recent disc installed to play it so in the case of those to only being installed you would need to use WA to play but it will tell you that I believe!

Edited to keep myself out of trouble as I didn't know this was not allowed!  :-[ I just figured since it would allow you to do it then it was ok. My mistake! But I know some discs will only install a trail version on a second computer so since you could install the full thing I thought nothing of it. And since I didn't need the disk to play I seen no reason to buy it since I had it already from trying it to see if I wanted to buy it before I did.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15081
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2010, 05:11:39 AM »
I am the first to admit that the table I posted is confusing.  It's not easy to explain what it's doing (at least for me) except by posting code, and that only works if the person reading your code is a programmer.That might work, but it would be illegal, and so I wouldn't do that.  I'm funny that way. :)

What about her suggestion is illegal?  If you own the base game and World Adventures, you can install them on more than one computer. 
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver Townie DecaDynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Offline mtglady

  • Global Moderator
  • Immortal
  • ******
  • Posts: 760
  • Enjoy life and The Sims!
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2010, 07:17:30 PM »
That's not consistent with the licensing documents I've read; the expansion packs generally require the base game to be validly installed, and that consumes the single install allowed for both the expansion pack and the base game.  I don't recall EA allowing multiple installs. 

@ Pam - I think he is talking about momofmany 'borrowing' the base game from her sister so she could load WA that she purchased to save her some money.  I don't think that is illegal as they are sisters and, as long as she was able to register the game, then EA didn't mind either.
I notice there are quite a few games selling on EBay and that, to me, would be multiple installs to different simmers, but there appears to be no issues since, again, EA allows that to happen.
Also EA doesn't have a problem with those of us that load the game on several computers that we own, such as I have the games loaded on my laptop and my desktop.  Both systems show the games to be fully registered even though they are on different computers.   :)
Read the Forum Rules, they were written for a reason!  
Visit the Swap Shop.

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15081
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2010, 03:11:22 AM »
That's not consistent with the licensing documents I've read; the expansion packs generally require the base game to be validly installed, and that consumes the single install allowed for both the expansion pack and the base game.  I don't recall EA allowing multiple installs.

If mtglady is correct and you're talking about borrowing the game disk from someone else, I agree.  But that's not quite what you said in your response with the illegal comment.  Aside from that particular point, what momofmany suggested for you shouldn't be illegal in any way.  If you have legally purchased and registered the vanilla Sims 3 base game, how in the world would you not be allowed to install it on two computers that you also own?  I'm not claiming to be an expert on EA licensing agreements, but I really find it highly unlikely that it's illegal to install a legally purchased Sims 3 game on a second computer in your household. 
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver Townie DecaDynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Offline Saltypaws

  • Global Moderator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 4239
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2010, 08:30:32 AM »
I know that we are really off topic here, but I have to agree with Pam.  I have done that very same thing, with the computer being in the same house though.  My mom wanted to see if she could play the game before buying it and she would play when I was at work.  One time, I had to use a product key from one of my games for her computer, because it would not take her product key and some people say that is illegal, how can it be illegal when we both bought the games, but one key would not work.  Anyway, as long as you have purchased the game, then nothing is illegal about what you do with it.  I am done now, lol. :)
Is it true that cannibals don't eat clowns because they taste funny?

Read forum rules
Riches to Rags

Offline malteser60

  • Occult
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2010, 09:48:41 AM »
Also sorry for taking this off topic but I thought I might answer the question once and for all.

Whenever you buy a computer program you are also purchasing a licence to use said program. For the majority of programs that are purchased the licence only covers the installation of the program on one computer only. So that means you are not allowed to install the program on more than one pc, and that also includes a personal laptop (so you are only allowed to install it on either your desktop or your laptop, not both). For some programs you can buy more than one licence. So, for an example, at my work I do a lot of work on ArcGIS, and the program is installed on my work pc. However we have a limited number of licences installed on my office work server (I believe it's four). So if more than four people are using ArcGIS and I want to use it I can't, even though the program is installed on my pc. Obviously work makes sure that there are enough licences for us all to work on. Another common example is Microsoft Office. Legally you are only allowed to install Office on one pc. So in a household, if there is more than one pc, you have to buy a copy for each pc. This is explicitly stated in Microsoft Office's End User Agreement.

Now for the sims, I had a quick glance through EA's Terms of Service (and I do say quick as I'm supposed to be working  ::)) and it states that you are not allowed to "distribute, publicly perform or display, lease, sell, transmit, transfer, publish, edit, copy, create derivative works from, rent, sub-license, distribute, decompile, disassemble, reverse engineer or otherwise make unauthorized use of Content or Entitlements ". So unfortunately momofmany borrowing the base game from her sister was illegal, doesn't matter that they are sisters, or if they are married, parent/child, etc. I couldn't find anything about how many pc's the game is licenced to be installed on, but then again I couldn't find the End User Agreement (after a very brief search), nor did I have enough time to properly look through EA's ToS.

Sorry, sounds all doom and gloom. However it's not all that bad. Nobody is going to come and tell you off for lending your game to your sister, etc, and most companies expect a person to install their games on more than one pc (i.e. desktop and laptop), and probably EA do have a statement to this effect. It's like when music first become digital on CD, it was illegal to copy your CD onto different devices i.e. you were allowed to play the CD in different devices, but you couldn't hold a copy of the CD on, say, your pc, and your mp3 player, etc. But that was soon determined to be unfeasible and thus the licencing laws were changed.

Hope this clears some things - and sorry for the long post.

Offline Metropolis Man

  • Tournament/Dynasty Coordinator
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 8099
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2010, 01:02:15 PM »
Okay, everyone — the license/legal stuff stops here. If anyone wants to continue it on the Babble thread, that's fine. Just quote what you want to comment on, copy the quote, and then paste it in a Reply to the Babble thread.

Twilightlover 98

  • Guest
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2010, 08:51:00 PM »
Thanks Metro for putting us back on topic. When I try to Transfigure metals to get Plutonium, I end up getting a gnome instead. Is that a glitch or is it random?

Offline Pam

  • Community Manager
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 15081
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2010, 10:45:30 PM »
Thanks Metro for putting us back on topic. When I try to Transfigure metals to get Plutonium, I end up getting a gnome instead. Is that a glitch or is it random?

It's probably random.  What metals are you using?
Read and heed the Forum Rules, please!

Support the site when you purchase online!
Dreamweaver Immortal Dynasty
Dreamweaver Townie DecaDynasty
Pam's Sims 4 World Blog

"Half of my posts are correcting people. The other 49% is moving threads."

Twilightlover 98

  • Guest
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #21 on: December 21, 2010, 11:22:00 PM »
Silver, Gold, Copper everything! . I used different combinations to try and get Plutonium and I followed the recipe using Carl's guide.

Offline Naga

  • Top Secret
  • Immortal
  • ******
  • Posts: 807
  • I herd yu laik mudkeipz?
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #22 on: December 22, 2010, 07:15:37 AM »
I believe the recipes are different depending on which expansions you have installed, considering each of them add new metals, therefore modifying the transfiguring system.

Offline Jowkoul

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #23 on: December 27, 2010, 02:57:59 PM »
I don't know if I'm right or if this is reliable, but when I was playing in Sunset Valley (I'm now in Twinbrook) I was desperately looking for that metal named plutonium. I tried everything! Catacombs, collecting (with and WITHOUT the Collector Helper), fishing and anything that was available until I got World Adventures and Ambitions. BUT the only way I got that odd metal was RUMMAGING! I started rummaging in every rich family's trash can but I had no luck, even with the Goths or Landgraabs. I found the metal while rummaging in a family's house which was not rich at all! They had about 20,000 or less in cash! I was relieved to finally collect it (or steal it  ;) ) but I haven't found any more so far (2 yrs LOL). I can't remember the family's name, sorry  :-\ . Still, I hope you'll have luck finding plutonium and if you can't find it no way, then try the buydebug on cheat and place some rare metal spawners (2 or 3 is fine with me) on your home lot and wait for the desired plutonium or any other rare metal (they are random, really) to spawn! Of course if you are not against cheating  ;D Sorry for the long post  ::)
Just got the 'Death of Michael Jackson' moodlet, applies for 14 days, -200 mood

Offline Cheezey

  • Townie
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
Re: Plutonium
« Reply #24 on: June 20, 2011, 09:37:31 AM »
I hope no one minds me bumping this older thread for this, but I was surprised no one mentioned the one spot in Sunset Valley where I've found plutonium in the past.  Granted, this is still an extremely rare spawn and I'd say 80% of the time the rock here turns out to be palladium instead of plutonium, but I have gotten plutonium in this spot in many games.

If you send your sim to SimHenge, the path they take up the hill has a fence on one side.  On the other side of the fence is a large crater, which you can see pretty easily from edit town view.  Occasionally a rock will spawn in the crater.  This is the spawn point you want.  FYI, there is a second spawn point in the crater more toward the outside that is usually silver or gold, but the one closer to the center that rarely pops up is the one you want to watch.

If you have a collection helper, look there periodically and see if the middle-of-the-crater rock is up.  If it is, you may be lucky and it'll be plutonium.